Orono honors alumni

The Orono Alumni Association, in collaboration with Orono High School and the Orono School District, announced the commencement of the nomination process for the 2017 Distinguished Alumni and Promising Alumni Awards.

The Orono Alumni Association invites alumni, friends and community members to nominate an Orono High School graduate who has demonstrated excellence in their chosen field or occupation and/or has demonstrated leadership and character and made lasting contributions in their community.

New two years ago, the Orono Alumni Association introduced the Promising Alumni Award. This honor aims to recognize an Orono alum who graduated high school less than 15
years prior from 2017, whereas Distinguished Alumni are graduates of over 15 years. Both categories follow the same requirement process.

“We value the ability to honor and build our alumni network every year and continue to see what our Orono Alumni leaders have done and where they are headed,” 1983 Orono Alum and Director of Development for the Orono Foundation for Education Jeanne Morrison Cook said.

The Orono Alumni Association, launched in the fall of 2014, was created by the Orono Foundation for Education (formerly the Orono Alliance) in order to provide alumni with the opportunity to connect with fellow graduates, network for business and support their school and their community. The Orono Foundation for Education represents all of us who understand that the best gift we can give our children is the gift of an excellent education.

“The creation of the Orono Alumni Association and the partnership with Orono Schools and the Orono Foundation for Education continues to build on dreams that I have to connect our schools with our community,” said Superintendent of Orono Schools Dr. Karen Orcutt. “The past honorees for the Distinguished Alumni Award are an amazing group of community members. I appreciate the younger alumni being included in this prestigious group of Orono graduates,” Orcutt added.

Past Orono Distinguished Alumni Award winners are:
1997 – Marvin Johnson ‘53
1998 – Bruce Willis ‘58
1999 – Heidi Hofmann Hoover ‘74
2000 – Kelly Shaughnessy ‘72
2001 – Kristi Jensen Pierro ‘75
2002 – Cliff Otten ‘66
2003 – John L. Shannon, Jr. ‘71
2004 – Joan H. Lane ‘82
2005 – Jerry Rockvam ‘57
2006 – Catherine MacKinnon ‘64
2007 – James D. Franklin ‘65
2008 – Dave McKown ‘55
2009 – Jack Veach ‘77
2010 – T.J. Haislet ‘73
2011 – Traci L. Toomey, Ph.D., ‘83
2012 – Lowell Seashore ‘68
2013 – Dean Mooney ‘64
2015 – Kitty Crosby ‘58
2015 – Kassy Heinrich ’07 – Promising
2016 – James Van de Ven ‘97
2017 – Erin Shaughnessy Murray ’00 – Promising

Nominations for both the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Promising Alumni Award
must be received by April 1. Submit nominations or download the nomination form on the
Orono Alumni Association website at www.oronofoundation.org/alumni. One nominee will
be chosen for each award and notified of their selection by mid-May.

Questions about the Orono Alumni Association, Distinguished Alumni Award or Promising
Alumni Award may be directed to Jeanne Morrison Cook, Director of Community
Engagement for the Orono Foundation for Education, at [email protected]